In the council chamber, I strongly supported the introduction of a bye-law (later passed by a majority of councillors following debate) imposing a special speed limit of 30 km/h for a number of local roads. This will consist of a) Installation of signage b) Monitoring of traffic on these roads as regards whether it generally adheres to the new limit c) Consideration of future traffic measures needed following such analysis.

According to Government guidelines, the limit is suitable for residential roads where the introduction of signage realistically is deemed to create a self-enforcing effect for the new limit. The introduction of signage begins in Summer this year.

The roads selected within the Stillorgan electoral ward include:

Allen Park Road
Allen Park Drive
Ardilea Downs
Beaufield Park
Cabinteely Close
Cabinteely Court
Cairn Hill
Callary Road
Cedarmount Road
Clonmore Road
Dale Close
Dale Drive
Dale Road
Deerpark Road
Drummartin Park
Glenabbey Road
Greenfield Road
Harlech Downs
Iris Grove
Kilmacud Avenue
Kilteragh Pines
Linden Lea Park
Mather Road (North and South)
Merville Avenue
Mount Anville Lawn
Mountsandel Park
Redesdale Crescent
Redesdale Road (part)
Roebuck Avenue
Roebuck Castle
Silver Pines
St.Thomas’ Meade
St.Thomas’ Road
Stillorgan Heath
Sweet Briar Lane
Sycamore Crescent
Sycamore Road
The Birches (Foxrock)
The Close (Mount Merrion)
The Rise
The Thicket
Trees Avenue
Westminster Park Off Pine Avenue
Woodley Park

Further details, plus a link to all affected roads across the county, are outlined below: